最新消息

【香港羽毛球公開賽】李卓耀勇挫金廷首次主場封王

  • 2019-11-18
李卓耀登上「YONEX-SUNRISE香港公開羽毛球錦標賽2019」男單王座!這位港隊23歲土炮球手周日(17日)於香港體育館舉行的男單決賽爆冷2:1反勝印尼的金廷,成為繼2016年的另一港將伍家朗後,第2位在主場封王的男將。

現時世界排名27的李卓耀,今屆賽事原本需要出戰外圍賽,但受惠於有球手退賽而獲直入正賽資格,結果成為賽事「奇兵」,先後擊退中國石宇奇及丹麥安賽龍等名將晉級決賽,突破去年4強止步的成績,爭冠最後一關面對世界排名第8的印尼球手金廷,後者則在晉級過程中淘汰港將伍家朗、中華台北周天成及同胞基士堤等強手。

周日賽事所有門票全數售出,場館氣氛相當熾熱,除了李卓耀獲主場球迷打氣外,場內亦有不少印尼球迷為金廷打氣。坐擁主場之利的李卓耀開局略顯緊張,向金廷展開進攻時偶有失誤,首局最多落後過8分,力追下仍失16:21。但李卓耀休息調整後打出節奏,大比分贏一局21:10,而在決勝局乘勝追擊,雖一度被金廷局末超前,仍救走「決勝分」後以22:20取下,勝出這場77分鐘的激戰奪冠。

李卓耀賽後在歡呼聲中跪在地上振臂一呼,他賽後謂:「落後時不斷提醒自己不能放棄,多謝香港球迷今日到場支持我,他們每一分都為我吶喊,支持的聲音幫助了我許多。」又提醒自己不能自滿:「今次比賽或多或少對自己有肯定,但也非完全的肯定,畢竟並非今次贏過他們下次就一定有優勢。不能因為這個冠軍,就覺得自己一定能贏過其他人。」李卓耀亦放眼爭奪來年東京奧運資格,冀之後能持續有好表現,世界排名能打入前16。

「YONEX-SUNRISE香港公開羽毛球錦標賽2019」一連六日賽事圓滿結束,決賽日所有門票售罄,反應超出預期,感謝香港球迷支持。

News

【Hong Kong Badminton Open】Lee Cheuk-yiu Defeats Ginting to Win Home Title

  • 2019-11-18
Lee Cheuk-yiu claimed the Men’s Single title of “YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2019”! The 23-year-old Hong Kong player stunned Anthony Sinisuka Ginting with a 2:1 comeback victory at Hong Kong Coliseum on Sunday (Nov 17). He became the second Hong Kong player to win the Men’s Singles crown since Angus Ng Ka-long in 2016.

With the current world ranking of 27, Lee originally had to play the qualification rounds for a spot in the main draw, but he was later directly qualified due to the withdrawal of some players. He has then started his fairy-tale run, holding off several acclaimed players, including Shi Yuqi from China and Viktor Axelsen from Denmark, to reach the final. This was also his best result on home soil after advancing to the semi-final last year. World No. 8 Anthony Sinisuka Ginting from Indonesia was the last challenge standing in Lee’s way to the home title, who has eliminated Hong Kong’s Angus Ng Ka-long, Chou Tien Chen from Chinese Taipei and teammate Jonatan Christie for a spot in the final.

All the tickets for the Sunday matches were sold out, resulting in a lively and dynamic atmosphere. While Lee was backed up by the home crowd, there were also many Indonesian supporters for Ginting. Despite the home advantage, Lee was nervous at the onset of the final and committed errors when attacking. Falling behind from as many as eight points, Lee recovered his composure later but still lost the first set at 16:21. After taking a break, Lee improved his game and won the second set at 21:10. With the rising momentum, Lee continued to battle hard in the decider. Though Ginting once had a lead at the end of the third set, Lee was able to save the match point and sealed the victory at 22:20 after 77 minutes.

Raising his arms and letting go of his emotions amid the cheers and applause after the match, Lee said: “I kept reminding myself to never give up when I was behind today. I want to thanks the Hong Kong fans, who came here to support me today. They cheered for me at every point, which helped me a lot.” Reminding himself he could not be complacent, he said: “This tournament is also kind of self-acknowledgement for me. Though I beat them all this time, this does not mean I could still be victorious in our next encounter. I don’t think I’m better than the others simply because of this championship.” Looking ahead, Lee hopes to be qualified for the Tokyo Olympics next year and his spectacular performance could continue so that he could be ranked within Top 16 in the world.

The six-day “YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2019” was successfully concluded with the tickets for the final day all sold out. The enthusiastic support from the audiences exceeded expectations and the organizer is grateful for the Hong Kong fans’ support.