最新消息

【香港羽毛球公開賽】「鄧謝配」再過一關 李卓耀險勝石宇奇闖8強

  • 2019-11-14
「YONEX-SUNRISE香港公開羽毛球錦標賽2019」今日(14日)於香港體育館上演16強賽事,香港代表隊分別在男、女單及混雙出擊,最終男單李卓耀以2:0勇挫3號種子石宇奇、與直落兩局擊敗馬來西亞組合的鄧俊文/謝影雪雙雙晉級;女單張櫻美則力戰而敗不敵何冰嬌。

現時世界排名13的鄧俊文/謝影雪前日於首圈賽事力壓中華台北組合晉級,次圈即遇上賽事的6號種子馬來西亞組合陳炳順/吳柳螢。雖然「鄧謝配」世界排名比大馬組合低7位,但兩對組合過往4次交手,港將錄得3勝1負佔優對賽往績。今次主場出擊,「鄧謝配」首局雖然大部份時間落後,但在球迷打氣下末段打至「刁時」以22:20逆轉,第2局更主導戰局贏21:15,晉級8強。

兩人賽後謂經過首圈賽事適應後,今場比賽對場地及方向都有所掌握:「首局表現不太滿意,不過過程未有想太多。經常都要打逆境波,不會太擔心,會一分一分追上去;第2局入局較快就感滿意。」今日有不少球迷進場,期間不斷高呼「香港加油」為「鄧謝配」打氣。

男單世界排名27位的李卓耀於16強面對世界排名比他高20位的中國球手石宇奇。首局李卓耀在第一分後就未嘗落後,輕鬆以21:9拿下。但第二局遭對手奮力反撲,石宇奇一度領先6分,最終激鬥至5次「刁時」李卓耀以26:24再贏一局奏凱。

賽後他坦言,今場順利取勝全因石宇奇有傷在身:「在澳門站時已知道他腳有傷,所以今日這場結果實力上不能代表甚麼。」雖然對手負傷,但第二局仍要戰至「刁時」才險勝對手,李卓耀指自己耐性欠佳:「覺得對手受傷就急著想贏,幸好最後能夠把握機會。」

至於女單唯一港將張櫻美,次圈硬撼7號種子、中國何冰嬌。世界排名第206位的港將首局與第7位的何冰嬌一度打成均勢,惜未能守住領先以14:21先失一局。港將於次局力戰下再負16:21,無緣8強。賽後張櫻美指經過兩日奮戰,體能已有相當大的消耗,今仗迎戰何冰嬌沒給自己壓力,知道對手實力在自己之上,對於取勝相當有難度。

「YONEX-SUNRISE香港公開羽毛球錦標賽2019」門票於城市售票網公開發售,票價由$40至$680,部份場次設有學生及高齡人士優惠。



第三日中國香港隊成績:

男單

李卓耀

正賽次輪

2:0(21-9、26-24)

石宇奇 (中國)

女單

張櫻美

正賽次輪

0:2(14-21、16-21)

何冰嬌 (中國)

混雙

鄧俊文/謝影雪

正賽次輪

2:0(22-20、21-15)

陳炳順/吳柳瑩 (馬來西亞)

News

【Hong Kong Badminton Open】Tang/Tse Pair Advances to Next Round, Lee Cheuk-yiu Prevails in Thriller Against Shi Yuqi for a Spot in Quarterfinal

  • 2019-11-14
The Round of 16 matches of “YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2019” went underway at Hong Kong Coliseum today (Nov 14), featuring Hong Kong players in the line-ups of Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles and Mixed Doubles. In Men’s Singles Lee Cheuk-yiu stunned No.3 seed Shi Yuqi, while Tang Chun-man/Tse Ying-suet defeated a Malaysian duo in Mixed Doubles. As they both reached the next round, Cheung Ying-mei lost to He Bingjiao in Women’s Singles.

After downing a Chinese Taipei pair in the first round a day before yesterday, Tang Chun-man and Tse Ying-suet, ranked No.13 in the world, encountered No.6 seeded Malaysian duo Chan Peng Soon and Masgoh Liu Ying in the second round. Although the Tang/Tse pair was seven places lower in the world ranking, they have won three out of four times against the Malaysian players before. Taking on the opponent on home soil, Tang and Tse trailed behind most of the time in the first set, but they recovered their game at the end amid the support of the fans and pocketed the set at 22:20 after deuce. With a more overwhelming performance in the second set, the home pair ended the match at 21:15 and reached the quarterfinal.

The pair said they have been more familiar with the court and the wind direction after the first round. “We were not happy with how we played in the first set, but we didn’t think too much. We are often in a position that we have to come from behind in a match, so we were not too worried today. We just took one point at a time. We were satisfied that we found our game more quickly in the second set,” they said. Many fans showed up today and shouted “Add oil, Hong Kong” to cheer for the Tang/Tse pair.

World No. 27 Lee Cheuk-yiu took on Shi Yuqi from China, whose world ranking is 20 places higher. In the first set, Lee never looked back after the first point and won it convincingly at 21:9. But Shi recovered his game in the second set and once held a 6-point lead. The second set was at last concluded after five deuces with Lee grabbing it at 26:24.

Lee said frankly after the match his victory today was due to Shi’s injury. “I know that he has hurt his leg in the Macao tournament, so today’s result does not prove which one is a better player,” Lee noted. Although his opponent was injured, Lee was not happy with his impatient performance and he had to edge out Shi at deuce in the second set. “I was irritated and wanted a quick win because of the opponent’s injury. But fortunately I was able to seize this chance,” he added.

Hong Kong’s sole representative in Women’s Singles, Cheung Ying-mei, faced No.7 seed He Bingjiao from China. The 206th-ranked Hong Kong player was able to keep up with the world No.7 Chinese athlete in the first set, but Cheung failed to convert the lead and lost the first set at 14:21, before giving up the second set again at 16:21.

Eliminated before the quarterfinal, Cheung said after the match she played hard in the past two days and her stamina ran pretty low. She did not have high expectation today against He, who is a better player, as she knew it would be difficult for her to strike a win.

Tickets of “YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2019” have been available for sale at URBTIX (www.urbtix.hk), with the price ranging from $40 to $680. Concession tickets are available for students and senior citizens in some of the sessions.



Day 3 Result of Team Hong Kong China:

MS

LEE Cheuk Yiu

Main Draw R2

2:0(21-9、26-24)

W

SHI Yu Qi (CHN)

WS

Cheung Ying Mei

Main Draw R2

0:2(14-21、16-21)

L

HE Bing Jiao (CHN)

XD

TANG Chun Man/TSE Ying Suet

Main Draw R2

2:0(22-20、21-15)

W

CHAN Peng Soon/GOH Liu Ying (MAL)