最新消息

「南韓虎」激烈89分鐘挫西本拳太 告別2年「錦標荒」

  • 2018-11-18
「YONEX-SUNRISE香港公開羽毛球錦標賽2018」今日上演5場決賽,昨日擊敗男單世界「一哥」桃田賢斗的韓國孫完虎延續勇態,先落後日本的西本拳太1局之下,上演反勝劇本贏2:1。此戰讓孫完虎正式告別2年「錦標荒」,而且繼2014年後再奪香港公開賽冠軍,並成為首位在香港站2度奪冠的韓國代表。



孫完虎與西本拳太的7度交手裡,其中3次需要打至決勝局,今次亦不例外。「南韓虎」甫開局迅以搶攻掌控節奏,一度以7分優勢壓制對手。西本拳太與上場對李卓耀一樣,突然在中段發力並連奪12分,即使孫完虎狀態後來有所回穩,但無阻西本拳太以21:17先拔頭籌。

第2局初段形勢出現大逆轉,西本頻以扣殺取分,但孫完虎亦展現了漂亮的防守技巧,精彩的攻防戰多次贏得球迷掌聲。「南韓虎」的防守始終更勝一籌,亦以21:17扳平局數,雙方在決勝局依然爭持不下,但孫完虎再在後段展現實力,終以21:13奠勝。孫完虎繼2014後在香港公開賽奪魁後,第2度在香港高舉獎盃。


現年30歲的孫完虎自2016年12月韓國大師賽後,近2年未有染指男單冠軍,他賽後接受訪問時指:「很榮幸在兩年後再奪冠軍,對此我很開心,期間在訓練上沒有太大調整,只是一直享受在場上比賽的感覺。」孫完虎昨日在準決賽擊敗「一哥」桃田賢斗,今日亦要打足3局分勝負,他坦言今次比上次在香港站奪冠更辛苦,但在香港觀眾的鼓勵下,能將汗水化成動力。

男雙決賽方面,印尼的世界冠軍組合蘇卡穆約/基廸安馬古斯迎戰日本的園田啟悟/嘉村健士。今年已奪得9項雙打冠軍的印尼組合明顯佔優,卒以直落2局21:13、21:12擊敗對手,衛冕香港公開賽男雙冠軍。



混雙決賽則出現「爆冷」賽果,中國的世界排名第2組合王懿律/黃東萍在最後一關失蹄,連負日本的渡邊勇太/東野有紗21:18、21:14,而日本隊最終以女單、女雙及混雙3項賽事冠軍,成為今年香港公開賽的最大贏家。

News

Son defeated Kenta Nishimoto to end two-year title drought

  • 2018-11-18
South Korean Son Wan Ho picked up where he left off yesterday to defeat his second Japanese opponent in a row at the YONEX-SUNRISE Hong Kong Open Badminton Championships 2018. The World No.6 came back from behind for the second straight match to defeat Kenta Nishimoto 2:1 in the Men’s Singles final. The victory ended Son’s two-year wait for a title, and he lifted the trophy in Hong Kong for the first time since 2014, making him the first Korean player to triumph twice in Hong Kong.



Of the seven previous head-to-head matchups between Son and Kenta Nishimoto, three went down the wire to the deciding game, and it was no different tonight (November 18). Son started the match with some fierce offensive plays to establish a seven-point lead early on, yet Kenta Nishimoto responded with a 12-point run of his own, the South Korean did his best to regroup himself, but there was none stopping the World No.11 as Kenta Nishimoto took the first game 21:17.

The second game unfolded with some massive twists, Nishimoto’s smashing was well-matched by Son Wan Ho’s brilliant defensive plays, the duo exchanged shots as the audience cheered on. Son’s defensive plays proved to be better as he hang on to level the match at one game apiece, taking the second game at 21:17. It was a tight battle in the deciding game as one would have thought, and Son’s determination turned out to be the difference. The South Korean clinched the deciding game 21:13, as well as the Men’s Singles title. It was his second win in Hong Kong, having last triumphed here back in 2014.



This victory also ended Son’s two-year title drought, as he won for the first time since he winning the Korean Masters Championships at Jeju Island back in December 2016. “It felt good to finally win again after almost two years, I am very happy. I didn’t adjust too much on my training, but I had been enjoying playing and competing on the court,” said the 30-year-old. Son Wan Ho also needed the deciding game before outlasting World No.1 Kento Momota yesterday, he admitted this victory was much tougher than it was four years ago, but the encouragement from Hong Kong audience pushed him past the finish line.

Over to Men’s Doubles final, world champions pair Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo overcame Japanese duo Keigo Sonoda/Takeshi Kamura with ease, the Indonesian pair won 21:13, 21:12 in 35 minutes to defend their title, and added to their nine titles won earlier this year.



There were unexpected results in the Mixed Double’s Final though. World No.2 Chinese pair Wang Yilyu/Huang Dongping stumbled at the last hurdle, crashing to Japan’s Yuta Wanatabe/Arisa Higashino 18:21, 14:21. To conclude, the Japanese Badminton Team managed three titles in Women’s Singles, Women’s Doubles and the Mixed Doubles to make themselves the biggest winner at this year’s Hong Kong Badminton Championships.